Prime Minister's Office


The Rt Hon. & Learned The Lord Dayton of Calder Valley, KC, CSP was appointed Prime Minister on

25 October 2021, after winning the 2021 election. 



The Prime Minister and the Government are responsible to Parliament. At any time, members of Parliament may request that the Prime Minister or any other Cabinet minister respond to questions concerning the Government's policies or activities. The details of anything not deemed by law to be an official secret of the State must be divulged at the request of any member of Parliament who has received permission from the Woolsack (Chair) to make inquiries. The Prime Minister or other ministers may also be asked to explain or defend their policies, actions, or statements to Parliament's satisfaction. The Prime Minister is elected yearly by Parliament in Mid-October for a one-year term.


It is the Prime Minister's privilege and responsibility to advise the Sovereign on the formation of His Majesty's Government. From among Sconnish subjects qualified to sit in Parliament, the Prime Minister presents to the Sovereign the names of those persons he feels are best suited to constitute the Government. The Sovereign, in turn, appoints them on the Prime Minister's advice.

Members of His Majesty's Government who sit in Cabinet hold the various portfolios of His Majesty's Secretary of State. Each portfolio of responsibility is focused on an area of administration which has been established based upon needs identified by the sitting Prime Minister. Other ministers who are not strictly speaking considered Cabinet ministers (such as Ministers without Portfolio) may also comprise His Majesty's Government. Such ministers may, nevertheless, sit in on meetings of the Cabinet at the Prime Minister's discretion. 

Prime Minister's Staff:

Chief of Staff 

Sir Joost Jacobs, Bt 

Special Advisor

The Rt. Hon. the Earl of Ravensthorpe, GCGE, KC

Communications Director

The Rt. Hon. Sir Paul Martin, Bt


The Rt. Hon. The Earl of Rockcliffe (2014-2015)
His Majesty King Erik II [Then The Duke of Walsingham] (2015-2020)
The Rt. Hon. The Viscount Chatsworth of Bakewell (2020-2021)

The Rt Hon. & Learned The Lord Dayton of Calder Valley, KC, CSP (2021-Present)